Soonwald-Nahe - Nature Reserve

Nature Reserver

Concept

The people of the Soonwald-Nahe area have chosen a concept for their Nature Reserve which puts the unique character of the landscape comprising forest and viticulture in first place. This interaction of very different habitats serves to ensure the well-being of all living creatures. This applies for guests here on holiday as well as residents, for animals as well as plants.

The concept Forest-Wine-Well-being means that besides the protection of our cultivated landscape, the environmentally friendly usage which offers a living and working future to the persons in the Nature Reserve, is also included.

The heart of the Nature Reserve is the Soonwald, having very few residents it is characterised by large areas of peace in the centre of the forest, far away from the sounds of civilisation. After hurricane "Wiebke" in 1990 the contingent of deciduous forest was considerably increased by reforestation and natural juvenescence. Today the Soonwald consists mainly of mixed forests. Special features are the wildcats, rare bat species, a colony of swifts, the black stork and the hazel hen.

In the Soonwald-Nahe Nature Reservation we are particularly devoted to the protecting the highly individual elements of the landscapes. With the help of Nature Reserves we would like to make it possible for many persons to experience nature, pull them out of their daily routines and open up new perspectives. In order to make this possible we are working together with highly motivated people, groups and clubs and regional companies who bring the facets of well-being to life in the Nature Reserve. There are the forest rangers who live like “Asterix in the woods” with children, spa hotels rich in tradition with qualified naturopathic offers such as clay baths as well as modern methods of relaxation with meditation or massage. Trainers to help the manager up on a high-wire get back into balance, vintagers who take their guests into the vineyards and cellars and entertain in romantic inns kept by vintagers called “Straußwirtschaften” and butchers and cooks who will not only enchant you with delicious “wild” products of the region such as bear’s garlic, mushrooms, wild boar and deer but are also willing to share their tips and tricks with you.
In the future nature conservation, local tourism, an environment friendly agriculture and the local small businesses will all be able to relate to the concept Forest-Wine-Well-being and also all profit from it together.

The Soonwald-Nahe Nature Reserve supports the promotion of regional products and enhances the added value in the region. The concept of development is to continue to environmentally friendly make use of, and not the hinder, the use of the cultivated landscape which is rich in tradition. This can only be made possible with the people of the region, which is why the Soonwald-Nahe Nature Reserve co-operates with several different social groups and supports the balance of interests among them. By dedicated marketing the Nature Reserve achieves great understanding and acceptance for nature conservation and environmentally conscious actions, promotes regional identity and an overall lasting development of the rural area.

That makes the concept Forest-Wine-Well-being motto and responsibility for all parties.

Soonwald-Nahe - Naturpark

Naturpark

Leitbild

Die Menschen des Soonwald-Nahe-Raumes haben sich für ihren Naturpark ein Leitbild ausgewählt, welches den einzigartigen Charakter einer Landschaft in den Vordergrund stellt, die Wald und Weinbau umfasst. Dieses Zusammenspiel sehr unterschiedlicher Lebensräume soll durch seine Vielfalt dem Wohlfühlen aller Lebewesen dienen. Das gilt für die Feriengäste genauso wie für die Einheimischen, für Tiere genauso wie für Pflanzen.

Das Leitbild Wald-Wein-Wohlfühlen signalisiert außerdem, dass es neben dem Schutz unserer reichen Kulturlandschaft auch um eine sanfte naturverträgliche Nutzung geht, die den Menschen im Naturpark eine Zukunft bietet, die Arbeit und Leben einschließt.

Herzstück des Naturparks ist der Soonwald, ein wenig zersiedeltes Waldgebiet, das sich dadurch auszeichnet, dass es im Zentrum des Waldes noch große Bereiche der Stille jenseits aller Zivilisationsgeräusche gibt. Seit dem schweren Orkan "Wiebke" im Jahre 1990 wurde durch Wiederaufforstung und Naturverjüngung der Anteil an artenreichem Laubwald wesentlich erhöht. Heute besteht der Soonwald überwiegend aus Laubmischwäldern. Besonderheiten sind die Wildkatzen, seltene Fledermausarten, eine Mauerseglerkolonie, der Schwarzstorch und das Haselhuhn.

Im Naturpark Soonwald-Nahe liegt uns der Schutz der eigenwilligen Landschaftselemente sehr am Herzen. Wir wollen mit Hilfe des Naturparks möglichst vielen Menschen Naturerlebnisse ermöglichen, die aus dem Alltag entführen und neue Perspektiven eröffnen. Um das zu erreichen, arbeiten wir mit engagierten Einzelpersonen, Gruppen und Vereinen und regionalen Betrieben zusammen, welche die Facetten des Wohlfühlens im Naturpark mit Leben füllen. Da sind die Förster, die mit Kindern wie "Asterix im Wald" leben, traditionsreiche Kurhäuser, die qualifizierte Angebote der Naturheilkunde wie Lehmbäder genauso anbieten wie moderne Formen der Entspannung mit Meditation oder Massage. Trainer, die Manager am Hochseil wieder in die Balance bringen, Winzer, die ihre Gäste in Weinberg und Keller aufnehmen und in romantischen Straußwirtschaften bewirten und Metzger und Köche, die aus den "wilden" Produkten der Region wie Bärlauch, Pilze, Wildschein und Reh kulinarische Köstlichkeiten zaubern und ihre Küchentipps und Tricks gerne weitergeben.
So können sich in Zukunft der Naturschutz, der einheimische Tourismus, eine naturverträgliche Landwirtschaft und die regionale mittelständische Wirtschaft dem gemeinsamen Leitbild Wald-Wein-Wohlfühlen zuordnen und gemeinsam davon profitieren.

Der Naturpark Soonwald-Nahe unterstützt die Vermarktung regionaler Produkte und fördert die Wertschöpfung in der Region. Leitbild der Entwicklung ist eine Fortführung einer umweltverträglichen Nutzung der traditionsreichen Kulturlandschaft und nicht ihre Behinderung. Diese kann nur mit den in der Region lebenden Menschen geleistet werden. Daher kooperiert der Naturpark Soonwald-Nahe mit den verschiedenen gesellschaftlichen Gruppen und fördert den Ausgleich der Interessen unter ihnen. Durch eine engagierte Öffentlichkeitsarbeit schafft der Naturpark Verständnis und Akzeptanz für Naturschutz und umweltbewusstes Handeln, fördert die regionale Identität und eine nachhaltige Gesamtentwicklung des ländlichen Raumes.

So ist das Leitbild Wald-Wein-Wohlfühlen Motto und Verpflichtung für alle Beteiligten.