Soonwald-Nahe - Nature Reserve

Wein

FORESTRY

Rhineland Palatinate is the federal state with the relatively largest number of forests in Germany. 42 percent of the land is covered by forests. Forestry’s are active in almost all of the wooded areas. The state forestry’s have sovereign supervision over the forests of Rhineland Palatinate.

Rhineland Palatinate has not always had this many forests. At the end of the 18th century the forests were almost completely destroyed. From the experiences of the past a forestry has developed that is committed to sustaining the forests.

Sustaining means that all products and services of the forests, for example wood, will now and in the future be available to our children in the same amounts and quality and that they too will be able to enjoy the beauty of the forests daily.

To achieve this goal the forestry strengthens sturdy mixed forests and manages these in nature oriented manor. This means that tree types that are adapted to our climate and grow well in the soil here are supported.  These mixed forests are steadier against dangers and offer an ideal habitat for various rare plants and animals.  A total of 50 types of trees grow here in Rhineland Palatinate.

Soonwald-Nahe - Naturpark

Wein

Forstwirtschaft

Rheinland-Pfalz ist das relativ waldreichste Bundesland in Deutschland. 42 Prozent der Landesfläche sind mit Wald bedeckt. Die Forstwirtschaft sind auf nahezu der gesamten Waldfläche tätig. Den Landesforsten obliegen die hoheitliche Aufsicht über die Wälder von Rheinland-Pfalz.

Rheinland-Pfalz war nicht immer so stark bewaldet. Ende des 18. Jahrhunderts war der Wald nahezu zerstört. Aus den Erfahrungen von damals hat sich eine Forstwirtschaft entwickelt, die sich der Nachhaltigkeit des Waldes verschrieben hat.

Nachhaltigkeit bedeutet, dass alle Erzeugnisse und Leistungen des Waldes wie zum Beispiel Holz jetzt und zukünftig von unseren Kindern in gleicher Menge und Qualität genutzt werden können und sie sich ebenfalls tagtäglich an der Schönheit des Waldes erfreuen.

Um dieses Ziel zu erreichen, baut die Forstwirtschaft verstärkt stabile Mischwälder auf und bewirtschaftet diese naturnah. Das heißt, dass Baumarten gefördert werden, die an unser Klima angepasst sind und auf den Böden gut wachsen. Solche Mischwälder sind standfester gegenüber Gefahren und bieten einer Vielzahl seltener Pflanzen und Tiere einen idealen Lebensraum. Insgesamt sind 50 Baumarten in Rheinland-Pfalz heimisch.